Gladwell on rereading

I hate rereading, rewatching, and in some ways, relistening. I can count on one hand the number of books I have read multiple times, by choice, and chalk up my inability to quote movies to the fact that it is a rare movie indeed that I give multiple viewings. Songs I love will get cut from playlists mere months later. This stems mostly, I think, from a recognition that there is an endless supply of reading and watching and listening material, and that I’d like to get through as much of it as possible.

Malcolm Gladwell disagrees:

Re-reading is much underrated. I’ve read The Spy Who Came in from the Cold once every five years since I was 15. I only started to understand it the third time.

This is from a series of quippy points in The Guardian from Gladwell, most recently seen questioning the value of spies. I can see the value of rereading, but I’m not sure I’ll end up using my limited amount of time to do any more of it.

Leave a Reply

