The Long View

Simon Roberts has captured his countrymen in a series of pulled-back landscape shots:

Where possible I would photograph from elevated positions (often from the roof of my motor home), which would enable me to get a greater sense of people’s interaction with the landscape and with one another. I also decided that the people populating a scene would be relatively small in the frame; although not so small that you couldn’t make out some facial expressions, what they were wearing, and their activities.

As a general rule, I like close-ups in my photography. But these have a very Romantic-landscape-painting feel to them that work well.

Leave a Reply

