Aural Story of the Week

An inebriated college classmate once made the following argument: The Beach Boys were actually a better band than The Beatles. Preposterous, I said! And, like, seriously, preposterous. The Beatles body of work can’t be topped, but I am willing to concede two points:

1. Good Vibrations (and maybe God Only Knows) are better than any single Beatles record.

2. Pet Sounds kicks the butt of any single Beatles album.

Continue this pointless debate in the comments! But first, enjoy “That’s Not Me,” with a 24-year old Brian Wilson finding himself:

My folks when I wrote them and told ’em what I was up to said that’s not me,
I went through all kinds of changes, took a look at myself and said that’s not me

See also: Wouldn’t it Be Nice, I Know There’s An Answer, Sloop John B, and of course, God Only Knows.

Leave a Reply

