This much they know

The Guardian has an ongoing series – apparently it’s been going on for years – that boils down to asking celebrities questions about life. It’s not particularly unique (Esquire has a similar series), but most of the people are British, so if you close your eyes, you can almost hear how wise their accented pearls sound.

Some samples:

I was born quite a pessimistic person. When I’m driving I constantly visualise the person in the other car doing something really stupid and killing me. I keep as safe a distance as I can.

First thing in the morning, at seven, I wash my face. I have my breakfast – an egg and Kellogg’s cornflakes with skimmed milk and Sweet’N’Low – and I try to get on with it.

If you’re comfortable you’re doing no good for anyone. I wrote to the News of the World and asked to write for them. If I wrote for this mag, I’d be preaching to the converted.

My father had a style based on Bing Crosby. He liked the sports jackets and trousers, and that thing with the one hand in the trouser pocket. He used to smoke, so the other hand was busy.

I thought a lot about revealing that I had threesomes.

Can you guess which one is Niall Ferguson? Bill Nighy? Jane FondaBrian Wilson? Jamie Oliver?

Leave a Reply

