Do Not Give Me Your F****** Script

Screenwriter Josh Olson does not want to read your script. Just to be clear, he does not want to read your script:

That’s simple enough, isn’t it? “I will not read your fucking script.” What’s not clear about that? There’s nothing personal about it, nothing loaded, nothing complicated. I simply have no interest in reading your fucking screenplay. None whatsoever.

If that seems unfair, I’ll make you a deal. In return for you not asking me to read your fucking script, I will not ask you to wash my fucking car, or take my fucking picture, or represent me in fucking court, or take out my fucking gall bladder, or whatever the fuck it is that you do for a living.

He makes some reasonable points. Namely, that reading things from people who don’t want criticism but rather simply approval is no good. Find honest friends (not strangers), toughen your skin, and get on with it.

Though, I mean, I really would love if he would read my script…

Leave a Reply

