This Week’s Best Profile

Comes from 2002. It’s Tom Junod in Esquire delving into the vexing issue of bullies:

Jonathan Miller is one of this story’s terrible boys. I am the other. For a brief time, I was a terrible boy. I was a terrible boy to a boy named, for the purposes of this story, Timmy Titimski. I wasn’t terrible to anyone else; I wasn’t big enough, or strong enough, or powerful enough, or scary enough. I didn’t even know that I was a terrible boy until Timmy Titimski sat in front of me in the fifth grade. I was smart, I was studious, I was obedient in a particularly Catholic way. When Timmy Titimski sat in front of me, though, I was transformed…

Indeed, the more I’ve come to understand about bullying, the more I’ve come to understand that I was more of a bully in my relationship with Timmy Titimski than Jonathan Miller ever was in his relationship with Joshua Belluardo, and so, when it came to the question of mercy for Jonathan Miller–the question of mercy for terrible boys in general–I decided to call the one expert whose qualifications I personally accredited. I decided to call Timmy Titimski.

Read the whole thing, here.

Leave a Reply

